Unforgiven

There are things that you have done.
Dimmed the light on the path we’ve run.
You’d like me to say forgive, forget.
But I won’t, to your regret.

There’s a Beast, you set it loose.
I bought the rose, you brought the noose.
I’d like to say that we’ll get by.
But by now I’m too tired to lie.

There’s this love I now despise.
Please don’t look me in the eyes.
You’d like to think that this will pass.
Still you walk me over broken glass.

There’s this stage I want to leave.
Every kiss seems to deceive.
I’d like to say my last farewell.
But I’m so lost on this road to Hell.

There’s no relief on our worn out track.
Gone so far there’s no way back.
You’d like to wash blood from your hands.
I’d like to flee to far off sands.

There are things that you have done.
Oh dear God, what have we become?

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Unforgiven

Leave a Reply

