Staring at the Sun

You’re beautiful but distant,
to my words you’re most resistant.
Still, I like to dream that you may be the one.
I’ll tell you I’m happy that I found you
but first I’ll revolve the planets around you
because I might as well be staring at the sun.

I’m not trying to scold you,
it’s just my arms, they long to hold you
but I fear that they’d be ash before they’re done.
I agree that love is magic
but melting’s mostly tragic
and I might as well be staring at the sun.

Who knows? Maybe some day
you’d like to shine your light my way
and we could walk and talk and have a little fun.
I bet beneath that glowing lumen,
you are such a lovely human
and I haven’t just been staring at the sun.

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

