Let it Show

I won’t say that I love you
I’ll just show you that I do.
For words they come too easily
and actions speak so true.

I won’t cling desperately to your hand,
just return when day is done.
It doesn’t mean that I don’t want you:
I need you as the flower needs the sun.

I won’t buy you flowers though,
for bought bouquets are already dead.
Whereas my love for you is live and loud
and disco dancing inside my head.

I won’t squeeze you tightly in my arms,
for once held I may never part.
Your name repeats with every beat,
a raw rhythm inside my heart.

I will answer you honestly,
so please be wary what you ask.
Love should neither need illusions
nor hide itself behind a mask.

I will be there beside you
when we travel the world one day.
Whether mountain high or valley low,
support you come what may.

I will be there with interesting quotes
and with songs selected for every mood.
With funny lines to cheer you up
and oh, so much tasty food!

I will make you believe in magic
and that miracles may be true.
We witnessed one already on
the day that I found you.

So, have I shown you enough?

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Let it Show

    1. Thank you. You’re welcome to share it. 🙂 This is my favourite of my love poems and the first one here that wasn’t dedicated to the lost love that I mentioned to you. There’s this air of desperation about some of my other love poems which makes some of them hard for me to re-read now.

      This poem is dedicated to a very different kind of love: an I’ll tell you my rules, you tell me your rules, let’s see if we can make it work kind of love that doesn’t go along with the usual romantic cliches. Pleased you like it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yea , that’s what made it so unique. I’ll read them when I have the time. You have a great amount of work, and I want to sit down and actually take the time to carefully read them. Nothing better than reading what someone else has gone through or is going through and realizing that you are also feeling something so similar. I love your writing, and encourage you to write more.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

