The Other Window

My home it was on fire
& my panic began to show.
So I threw myself head first
through the nearest window.

The weather outside was sunny
& on long fall I got to know
the fate that did await me
beneath that nearest window.

The gentle breeze was comforting
but as snakes hissed in pit below,
I began to wonder whether I should’ve
tumbled through that nearest window.

Had I but taken time to think
& given the next lunette a go,
I would have seen a fireman
on a ladder by the other window.

The slithering ground approached swifter
and my fear it began to grow.
If only there was a way to go back in time
and go through the other window…

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

