Now and Forever

Please don’t say you’ll love me forever,
let’s love each other in the here and now.
I do hope time ties us both together
yet sadly sometimes I am not sure how.
The years may make me seem a stranger,
you’ll change one way and I another.
As we’re both damaged by daily danger,
will we even recognise each other?

I’ll say I love you more today than yesterday
and I will pray that this trend will last.
You’re a bright light: a pleasant, present ray
and true you shone so in our shared past.
You’re brave, beautiful, sweet, so strong.
I can lovingly list all your attributes.
But been burned before, seen right go wrong,
so would sooner not deal with absolutes.

I’ll say you’re wonderful; what’s wonderful is I’ll truly mean it too.
Love you with my whole heart here and now; is now enough for you?

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

