To the Tormentors

It’s too late to ask for forgiveness,
for those things you put me through.
But don’t worry – I’m doing fine now
& hope you get what’s coming to you.

They say what doesn’t kill you
will go on to make you strong.
I guess I would say “Thank you”
if those words didn’t sound so wrong.

Is your life a bed of red roses,
is it just the thorns that you found?
I’m sure you’ll get all you deserve
for what goes around comes around.

I could ask you all why you did it,
or point at all I’ve got that you lack.
Instead I’ll give you a warning:
If I were you I would watch my back.

Do these lines leave you nervous?
Can you count all you’ve left to lose?
Paranoid, petrified of punishment?
Time to take a walk in my old shoes.

There will be no revenge from me,
there’s no need now, you understand.
Just know that when karma comes knocking
I will watch with sweet popcorn in my hand.

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

