Let’s Play Pretend

I can pretend I don’t love you if you’re unready for it today,
I guess some words are hard to hear and hard to say.
I suppose it would be hard to be your lover
when you’re married to another
and pretending you’re better off that way.

I can pretend that I don’t hold you in my heart
and never ache for you whenever we part.
Pretend so hard I almost believe it’s real.
I’ll still say I’m fine just as we are
a line that misses the truth by far.
I guess friendship is an okay opening deal.

I can pretend my lips have never longed to kiss you,
and that when you’re away I never miss you.
I’m getting good at this pretending game.
However, just because I never reveal it,
it doesn’t mean that I don’t feel it.
I have hope that deep down you feel the same.

I guess I can pretend that this is purely fiction
for I would hate to cause any friction.
It’s a part I’m prepared to play.
So long as you’re still with him,
I guess my chances are slim
but I’ll keep hoping anyway.

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Let’s Play Pretend

  1. Thanks to those of you who already “Liked” this poem. 🙂 Just tweaked a few of the lines to make me happier with it but hopefully whatever you liked hasn’t been lost with the update. I’ve now used the more irregular rhyming scheme from the final stanza for the second and third one also. Kept the first stanza as it was since it seemed to flow smooth enough already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

