Unrequited

Your big beautiful eyes are blue in more ways than one,
mine miss them so now that they’re gone.
I wish I could send some salvation to you.

My lap whispers “Why wouldn’t she stay?”,
it shan’t sit right with it today,
yet still sounds sure it’s very glad it knew you.

My lips still feel yours there,
softly sigh your name – half voice, half air.
Listen, you may still hear my voice – now, do you?

And arms are asking “Why wouldn’t it last?
Can’t hugs hold off ghosts of her past?”
Do your arms ask to hold me closer to you?

Though it’s sad it ends like this,
I will still savour our days of bliss
and hope someday I may mean more to you.

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

