Winter Wonder

We fell for each other in winter when troubles tiled the frozen floor.
Avoided one sheet of black ice only to find some troubles more.
On days when my legs trembled and I lacked the strength to stand,
she spoke so sweetly to me and tenderly took me by the hand.
On nights when she shivered, so shattered, shaking and cold,
I caressed her closer, my heart hers and my warm body to hold.

Even on days when hard hail hit us and there was nowhere to hide,
facing freezing fears felt easier with a forever friend by my side.
Her beauty banished darkest despair, her laughter let me hope.
So long as we’re together I know we will always be able to cope.
Perhaps someday snow will thaw and all our worries will melt away.
Until then we’ll have each other and I’ll love her more everyday.

Copyright © 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

