Running Man: Love & Other Marathons

There’s a hole in my heart,
there’s a hole in my shoe.
Every mile away from her
is a mile closer to you.
The rain pours down, down,
drench me through & through.
Purple blisters on my feet
as sky breaks a bitter blue.
Fleeing from the lies,
longing, seeking something true.
Tick off mile after mile
as they’re turning twenty two.

Faces in the crowd pass
fast, flash by begin to blur
as I pick up the pace, race
to erase memories of her.
Somewhere she still shit
sifts, schemes, starts to stir.
Yet you wait at the finish,
pleasure promised makes me purr.

Keep on running, running man
pass picture perfect scene.
Can I paint past with your colours,
beauty blur lines where I’ve been?
Somewhere jealousy jars her,
she turns sickly shades of green.
Your love’s a rosy red ahead,
we’ll wed as king & queen.

You smile sweetly before me,
I catch kisses you’re sending.
Been a long, dark road run.
I’ve finally found my happy ending.

Copyright Β© 2015 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

23 thoughts on “Running Man: Love & Other Marathons

  1. I enjoyed this! Reminds me of how running (and now, other forms of exercise) has helped me deal with much of life’s turmoil… Great way to clear some mental space… Great metaphor for moving away from something, past something, towards something else, something filled with more hope and promise:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your feedback. Pleased that you enjoyed it. Running was a great escape for me when going through the worst of it. And although I’m still uncertain how some of the dramas will pan out, there’s certainly a lot more hope in my life now. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thanks for your feedback. Pleased you like it. As for the colour, the shade can vary – purple (mine was a blood blister from the first marathon – & ended up with a foot caked in blood also), black & even green (the latter if infected). The downside of marathon training/running is you get very familiar with blisters

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

