I Believe

I don’t believe benevolent beings look down on all we do.
I don’t believe happy endings from Fairy Tales come true.
I don’t believe we’re stronger from suffering we’ve been through.
But babe, believe me when I tell it true that I believe in you.

Though I don’t believe in Angels watching over us from a higher place,
I could almost accept they’re real when beholding beauty of your face.
And although I don’t believe paradise awaits if we worship Godly grace,
it feels a little like Heaven when I’m held here in your warm embrace.

I don’t believe that pixies prance at the bottom of the garden green.
I don’t believe a saviour sits sanctifying in an afterlife unseen.
I don’t believe that Mother Mary will wash our consciences clean.
But babe, I believe in loving you and our love seems so serene.

I don’t believe in unicorns or that a pegasus once flew.
I don’t believe in miracles (though I may’ve experienced one or two).
But I believe that I love you and I love that you love me too.
And babe, believe me when I tell it true that I believe in you.

Copyright Β© 2016 Philip Craddock. All rights reserved.

12 thoughts on “I Believe

  1. Beautiful! Because of all you don’t believe in just reinforces how strongly you do believe in your love together.
    I must admit I believe in all that you don’t! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was hooked like a fish upon a line
    wishing that your words were mine.
    And then you went and lost me
    spoiled the wonderful poetry
    when pouring your scorn
    On the magical unicorn. ..
    *gasp*
    πŸ˜‡
    You know its real.
    Haha! Great write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your feedback. Glad you liked it (even if I did accidentally direct people to this poem today due to a URL typo on the Blog-O-Ween thread).

      Hopefully I can redeem myself in your eyes by saying out of the things on that list, unicorns may well be the one I’d most like to be true. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

